When I started photography, I instantly started to take photos of myself. I would make some basic editing and I would upload them right after on facebook.  I received a lot of positive comments on my images and it became the reason why I became serious about this passion. I know, some people may say they don’t like to be in front of the cameras… but as a portrait/fashion/fine art photographer, I agree to say that self portraiture makes you develop a new kind of understanding. I will share five benefits with you!

Image

1) You are your own boss

With self-portraiture, you are the only one who can decide what to do with your environment. You have no pressure on and you have all the time you need to take the shot you want. Believe it or not, you are exploring your freedom with lighting, posing, post-processing and so much more!

2) You develop your style

No matter in what field you are in photography, self-portraiture gives you the ability to stay creative and original – in which will play an important role in your work. If you are not used to be in front of a lens, it gives you the opportunity to open your mind to new creativity! Give it a try! Everyone has his own sense to see the world, so the more you stretch your creativity, the more you grow as a photographer.

3) Better understanding on the technical aspects

If you specialize in portraiture, as I do, experimenting with self-portraits will help you have new ideas that you may want to apply when it will come the moment to photograph someone. Practicing self-portraiture on a regular basis will help you understand what type of posing, lighting and composition will work on a given situation. That way, the next time you will photograph a person, you will spend more time in interacting with them, rather than be mixed up to set up the technical aspects of your shoot.

Image

4) Self-expression

Each time you take self-portraits, it offers you a regular dose of self-expression and exploration.  Even if you do not take selfies regularly, with a creative medium such as photography, you learn to share of your own perspective of the world. It is nearly impossible to explore self-portraiture without growth on a personal level, and personal growth, as photographers, almost always equals new creative horizons.

Image

5) Invest time on Projects

Finally, if you truly want to develop your photography through self-portraiture, if you engage yourself doing the 365 days project or the 52 weeks project : at the end, it will be sincerely rewarding. Because behind these projects, it encourages you to think outside of the box and it’s a way for you to take an initiative with your camera to become a greater photographer. The key is practice : you have it all!

If you liked this blog, I invite you to share it, to talk to your friends about it and comment on this blog post! I really want to hear from you 🙂

Happy Holidays to you all,

Cindy xx

9 thoughts on “Self-portraiture : gold in photography

  1. Your work is incredible! I plan to take some self-portraits this weekend, but your creativity has sparked another aspect to how I was going to achieve it. Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. I love your self portraits! They are really beautiful especially the one with the snow.
    I’m just starting out in photography. So I was wondering how you did these by yourself. I figured it must have been hard and fiddly. Perhaps you can share some tips. Thanks!! 🙂

    • Maybe I could do a post on how to take self-portraiture? This may help you 🙂 Thank you for your nice comment on my work, I love it also the ones with the snow. The key trick in here is by repeating and repeating all over and over until you get the shot you want and also by trying new things. You must try to understand it! 😉 I use mostly of the time, natural light.

      • Hi – Thank you for replying! That would be great if you can do a post on it.
        Yes – I guess it is a matter of tweaking a lot to get the right shot!
        Love to see more of your work. 🙂
        PS would you mind deleting the comment from cantoinor, that is another account I made and I entered in the wrong account writing my previous post. Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

